Daily Post: Life changinging Experience, Saving Me

Vitiligo

Vitiligo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Khokhloma vessel

Khokhloma vessel (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Mirror

The spots transformed me

as each year crept by.

People glared at me, as if I were badly burned. I did not choose to become a topic for others who may question why. At age 21 this was the beginning, of 25 more years, like a metamorphosis, before it reached its ending. The once dark skin tone, turned to spots and finally to only white, My pigment was gone, and the stares disappeared. But through it all, the love and kindness grew from family, students, and friends, who knew the me who lived inside of me, not just the color of my skin. The life experience, saving me, was being the person underneath the skin. See how you too, are special! It will save you, too, indeed.

You need not look in the mirror, look not at races,  look at what is hidden in each vessel for the treasure, there, to find.