Daily Prompt: No, Thanks Inside an Inferno

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Daily Prompt: No, Thanks

Inside an inferno is nowhere I would go, strangely enough surreal it seems,that at four in the morning, as the world lay asleep, our son brings his dog for us to keep. My sleep is sporadic to say the least.

I had just laid down to get some sleep, John called me to look out of the window, gazing the house across the alley.We stood and watched as a tiny, glowing flame grew, from  the vacant home’s window. Hurriedly, I called 911, before hanging up, flames were shooting out the window, I told the 911 operator.

Living miles from the emergency control.  Soon a deputy arrived to call it a structural fire.  Within minutes our volunteer firefighters came in the blink of an eye, they are true heroes we cannot take for granted, it is true, Giving their own lives to save us without any pay, in rural Kansas, it is this love that protects each day.

 

Firefighters

Firefighters (Photo credit: starmanseries)

 

 

 

 

 

 

No inferno, no fire, angels around me, where life grows.

Our communities, our towns are living with  heroes.

