Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors My First Day

falling down the stairs, with grace

falling down the stairs, with grace (Photo credit: rick manwaring)

Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors (and bonus assignment!)

Comedy of errors for the teacher in me, began the night before launching my career.  I was so nervous ensuring that my first day would be perfect.  I fell down my apartment stairs resulting in a painful sprained ankle, as all my notes and plans scattered down on me like a fallen ticker tape parade.

Here I am a spectacle for my students to see, this crazy woman with crutches under each arm.  That is only the first part of the comedy. After entering my classroom I had to look at the bulletin board that laughed back at me,

“Start your year by stepping along one foot after the other.”

We all laughed about it as we met each other for the first time.

Forgetting about the circumstances, but clearly the students

in my class, that first day learned we are not perfect, but stumble

occasionally, and learn to laugh at the instances that make us better than

Crutches

Crutches (Photo credit: net_efekt)

English: A smiley face

English: A smiley face (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

before, for laughing at moments makes us not a laughingstock,

but human, for whatever life has in store.

Find comedy in the days we face, won’t you join me?

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors My First Day

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Comedy of Errors/ The Daily Post | terry1954

Comments are closed.