Bless my son, a ten minute walk with me

GE DIGITAL CAMERAThe young burly man with sandy blond hair quietly sauntered into my living room, with his usual slow uneven gait, a lasting reminder of his early childhood escape caused from hitting a semi at the age of nine.  The event forever freshly pressed into our hearts with the promise that God has something special ahead for you. His legs crossed with the turning of one foot encircled the space. Sweat was pouring from his brow, his strong arms grasped behind his head, It was like watching a silent movie, actions, and no words, action and no words.

Suddenly, his mouth opened and he said, “Mom, I have something to tell you, please wait until I am through.” Being a mother I felt my body become tense but I could not let him feel the anxiousness and the fast beating heart, that was felt, but not seen. He told me he was gay and questioned if I would disown him or stop loving him.  I shared with him that my love is unconditional. “Who or what you are is not a separate part of my love for you, son,” I said affectionately.  He hugged me and said, “I am happy you will always love me.

Shortly after he left.  I had the typical questions most parents have, why me?  The devil is not in the details, it is believing that loving each other as they are is what I am to do, because He is God’s gift to me.  Bless the world, my son. Do you love others the same? Bless the world!

One thought on “Bless my son, a ten minute walk with me

Comments are closed.