Truth or Imagination?

A long walk back from the college library back to my dorm,
In the shadows of the night, my mind danced with alarm,
Along a wide winding path, I see lights flicker and glow,
Never there before, sudden fear sweeps, do I want to know?
The hair stands up on the back of my neck as my heart races,
Wanting to turn back and run, from whatever path to meet,
I dare not quit the quest left to find,
I trudged onward, closer and closer strange sounds chilled the air,
Now upon the bridge, suddenly the puzzle, now complete,
The swans that floated on the college pond,
were kept in a shed, The hilarious situation was far beyond.
The flashing lights were a warning sign of sidewalk repair.
There truly was nothing but my imagination to ever beware.
For that journey always leads me back to a time to remember,
The glory of the truth, and leaving its lasting ember.